Jameson Empire Award winners: Gravity and The Desolation of Smaug come out on top

The Empire Magazine readers have spoken.

Last night saw the 2014 Jameson Empire Awards reveal their winners as voted for by the public.

Having been so dominant throughout awards season, the sci-fi spectacle Gravity picked up two key awards for Best Film and yet another Best Director accolade for Alfonso Cuaron.

Also clinching two wins was the second Hobbit film, The Desolation of Smaug which secured Best Sci-fi/Fantasy film and a surprise Best Male Newcomer win for Aidan Turner (ahead of the likes of Barkhad Abdi and Will Poulter).

Turner’s win wasn’t the only shock of the evening as James McAvoy picked up Best Actor ahead of Chiwetel Ejiofor and Leonardo Di-Caprio for his gritty turn in Filth. Another unexpected triumph was for Sally Hawkins as she won Best Supporting Actress for Blue Jasmine ahead of Oscar rivals Jennifer Lawrence and Lupita Nyong’o.

Emma Thompson (Saving Mr Banks) and Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave were the other acting winners which made scant consolation for their disappointments during the recent season.

Others films to land awards were The World’s End (Best British Film), Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (Best Comedy), The Conjuring (Best Horror) and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (Best Thriller) while Margot Robbie nabbed the Best Female Newcomer gong for her scrumptious turn in The Wolf of Wall Street.

There were also honours for Simon Pegg, Hugh Jackman, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Tom Cruise and Paul Greengrass as they were recognised for their successful achievements in the film industry.

The full list of winners are below:

BEST MALE NEWCOMER (presented by Tresor Paris)
Aidan Turner – The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

Margot Robbie – The Wolf of Wall Street

The Conjuring

BEST COMEDY (presented by Magic 105.4)
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

BEST SCI-FI/FANTASY (presented by MediCinema)
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

The World’s End

Emma Thompson – Saving Mr Banks

James McAvoy – Filth

BEST DIRECTOR (presented by Air New Zealand)
Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity

BEST FILM (presented by Sky Movies)

Be the first to comment on "Jameson Empire Award winners: Gravity and The Desolation of Smaug come out on top"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.